New Outline for Bloom Community Calls

New Outline for Bloom Community Calls

We’re adding an extra call to our line-up and moving things around.  Here is the monthly call schedule for the rest of 2020. All these sessions are free to the public. To find out more about our paid membership perks, head here.

Call times are fixed to USA times. Other countries will vary according to shifts in daylight savings. Keep up with the changes and plan ahead by doing your own calculations according to the USA times stated. As Bloom Network grows we will add sessions time-appropriate to the parts of the world that need them.

1st Mondays – Open Mesh PlatformsFixed Time 12pm Pacific 

These sessions will be a mix of 1. “Introduction to the decentralized web” so it grows beyond early adopters, 2. Jamming with both software development communities and regenerative leaders on the ground, and 3. Utilizing existing decentralized web infrastructure to support collaboration among regenerative projects locally and internationally. Come and geek out with Bloomers who care deeply about data sovereignty, transparent governance and peer-to-peer networks. To find out more go here: https://bloomnetwork.org/the-decentralized-web-for-regenerative-projects/ 

Starting in July – Register at https://e.sparxo.com/OpenMeshPlatformsJuly2020

Local times: First Mondays in Western Hemisphere: USA 12pm Pacific (fixed time), UK 8pm, CEST 9pm, East Africa 10pm // First Tuesdays in Eastern Hemisphere: Japan 4am, Australia 3am Western, 5am Eastern, New Zealand 7am.

3rd Mondays – Theme CallsFixed Time 2pm Pacific

A time for intense learning, these sessions bring key people in regenerative cultures together to chat about their focus area and share their learnings with the community. With plenty of time for questions, these sessions allow us to zoom in on specific topics of interest, and the video is often worth a rewatch because of all the fantastic information shared. These sessions are on a 6 monthly topic schedule. All sessions are available for Bloom Members for post-event watching. https://bloomnetwork.org/community-calls/ 

May Registration – The Decentralized Web: https://e.sparxo.com/Bloom-Dweb-2020

June Registration – Burners and Bloomers: https://e.sparxo.com/Burners-and-Bloomers2020

Local times: Third Mondays in Western Hemisphere: USA 2pm Pacific (fixed time), UK 10pm, CEST 11pm // Third Tuesdays in Eastern Hemisphere:  East Africa 12am, Japan 6am, Australia 5am Western, 7am Eastern, New Zealand 9am


Last Thursdays – Bloom BudsFixed Time 6pm Pacific

Bounce into Spring and share Autumn harvests* with Bloom Buds! Stop and smell the flowers in our casual catch-up sessions (optional: with a beverage of your choice). Share stories and creative endeavours from your part of the world, come together and break bread with other people doing regenerative culture. (*for our Southern Hemisphere Bloomers).

May Registration: https://e.sparxo.com/May2020BloomBuds 

June Registration: https://e.sparxo.com/June2020BloomBuds 

Local times: Last Thursdays Western Hemisphere: USA: 6pm Pacific Fixed Time, UK 2am, CEST 3am // Last Fridays Eastern Hemisphere: East Africa 4am, Japan 10am, Australia 9am Western, 11am Eastern, New Zealand 1pm

As Bloom Network Membership grows we will add sessions time-appropriate to the parts of the world that need them. Looking forward to chatting with you all soon!

Much Love, Bloom Team

Open Mesh Platforms

Open Mesh Platforms

An Introduction to the Decentralized Web for Regenerative Projects
presented by Bloom Network 2020-2021

All calls take place the first Monday of each month
@12pm Pacific time

Next call: July 6 – Register Here

Purpose of this educational series:

1) Increase the accessibility of peer-to-peer systems beyond early technical adopters to those working on the community frontlines.
2) Build relationships between software development communities and regenerative leaders on the ground.

What the heck is the decentralized web?

Yes exactly, that’s why we’re doing this. Here are some great intros from Mozilla, Internet Archive, and about Europe’s Next Generation Internet initiative.

Sessions

July 6, 12pm Pacific (Register here)
Already since beginning this series, a few working groups have formed. We’re currently feeling out the right balance between training/introduction calls and calls where we hack on Bloom Network itself. On July 6 we’ll plot out next steps for 1) setting up a continuous fundraiser to raise a community loan through Bloom memberships, utilizing DAO technology (Decentralized Autonomous Organization) and 2) looking into creating a protocol for the types of value exchanges Bloom members want to do with each other. If you are brand new to the dWeb / Web 3 etc, you’ll still be able to learn things during this session.

Below are sessions we plan to host over the coming year. We are forming the schedule month-by-month as we go. If you have the ability to do one of these trainings or explain to noobs what these projects are, please get in touch, thank you!

  • Decentralized web protocols – designed for privacy, distributed power and control of resources, and better connectivity in the developing world. Featuring Scuttlebutt, Blockstack, IPFS, Swarm. 
  • Training: How to use cryptocurrency for the first time – bitcoin and ethereum, introduction to wallets Samourai and Coinpayments.net, introduction to Metamask
  • How digital platforms enable decentralized governance, including introductions to Aragon, DaoStack, and Colony
  • Training: How to use DAI stablecoin to store cryptocurrency at a stable exchange rate. Cryptocurrency value fluctuates wildly at this stage in its adoption. In order to issue payouts for projects without the risk of losing value, teams can use stablecoins that are pegged to the value of the US dollar.
  • Publishing and media distribution on the decentralized web
  • Art and the blockchain: tools for artists to be compensated for digital sharing of their works
  • Training: How to use Kraken to withdraw cryptocurrency to state currency in your bank account. Not every country has access to Kraken, however, most countries do have a cryptocurrency exchange that is trustworthy.
  • Sovereign Identity Tools for data privacy – imagine if your social profile data was anchored primarily in your own account and not owned by a company like Facebook or Google. There are implications for a more economically equitable internet, protection from algorithmic manipulation of behavior (such as what you purchase and what you believe), and more. We’ll take a peek at the farthest along identity tools to date: Blockstack, U-Port, Jolocom, 3Box, and JLINC.
  • Training: Introduction to Aragon
  • Token Engineering – what is it, when not to use it, how communities can use it now – cutting through the noise
  • Cooperatives on the Blockchain. How smart organizations enable federated coops, easy and cheaper international exchange, and the sophisticated governance methods people need to collaborate with equitable power dynamics.
  • Introduction to deFi – What is decentralized finance, what tools exist to do it, and what are good use cases for it?
  • Regen Network – a regenerative agriculture application of blockchain designed to incentivize carbon drawdown and ecosystem restoration